Monday, July 24, 2017
Ask Linda #1579-Ground club in hazard
I understand that if a hazard is marked with a line then if any part of the ball is on the inbound side then the ball is inbound. If that is the case, may one ground one's club in address, as the ball may be inbound but the club might not!
Lou from Dorset, UK
Your statement that “if any part of the ball is on the inbound side then the ball is inbound” is incorrect. When the margin of the hazard is defined by a line, the line is in the water hazard. If any part of the ball touches the line, the ball is in the hazard [Definition of “Water Hazard”]. You may not ground your club in the hazard when the ball is in the hazard [Rule 13-4b].
If no part of the ball touches the line, the ball is not in the hazard. You may ground your club in the hazard to hit a ball that is outside the hazard [Decision 13-4/1].
Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.