Monday, July 10, 2017

Ask Linda #1569-Club contacts cart on follow-through

Hi Linda,
As the golf rules chairman at our club I am often asked questions after the fact and days later. The latest is a stroke play question. A player took a drop from a hazard but failed to move her motor cart away from her area of swing. She made a shot and her club hit the cart on her follow-though. No one else was in the cart. I believe if the ball hits your equipment or yourself there is a penalty. What about your club hitting your equipment?
Thanks for your fun and informative rules blog.
Yours in Golf,
Lulu from Virginia Beach, Virginia

Dear Lulu,

There is no penalty if your club hits your equipment during your swing. What possible advantage could that give you?

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.