Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Ask Linda #1422-Match play finalists disqualified

If both players in the final of a match-play event are disqualified, e.g., for agreeing to waive a rule, what happens to the result?  Is the match replayed, do the losing semi-finalists play off, or is it just a “no result?”
Lou from Adelaide, South Australia

Dear Lou,

If the two finalists are disqualified, they do not get to replay the match.

After the disqualification, the Committee must decide how to complete the tournament equitably. If circumstances allow, the fairest option would be to reinstate the two players who lost in the semi-final round and have them play a match to determine the winner of the tournament. The alternative would be to cancel the tournament [Decision 34-1b/8].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.