Thursday, November 10, 2016

Ask Linda #1418-Double hit holed out

Linda, can you confirm that a double hit from a bunker that goes into the hole is still holed with the appropriate penalty added? A fellow player questioned whether a hole-out can be made with a penalty shot!
Lou from Spain 

Dear Lou,

I'll be happy to confirm that for you, Lou. When a player's club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke (which in your case went into the hole – congratulations!) and add a penalty stroke for the double hit [Rule 14-4].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.