Thursday, April 23, 2015

Ask Linda #1046-Score totaled incorrectly

Linda, after completing an FBBB [four-ball/better-ball] competition the total scores were added and agreed to by all 4 players. Unfortunately one of the ladies put a wrong total number in the box – actually a 25 instead of a 35. Cards were signed by markers and players.

What would be the actual ruling?
Lulu from Buckinghamshire, England

Dear Lulu,

The competitor is responsible for recording the correct score for each hole [Rule 6-6]. The Committee is responsible for the addition of the scores [Rule 33-5]. If the competitor adds the scores incorrectly, the Committee must correct the error. There is no penalty to a competitor for an incorrect total.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.