Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Ask Linda #1044-Ground club in hazard to prevent fall

Hi Linda,
Thanks for all your help.
A player in our group had trouble keeping his balance while approaching his ball in a hazard. He used his club to keep from falling. In doing so, he grounded his club in the hazard. Should he be penalized?
Thank you,
Lou from Ontario

Dear Lou,

Absolutely not. There is no penalty if a player touches the ground in a hazard to prevent a fall; nor is there a penalty if he falls [Rule 13-4, Exception 1].

However, if the action improves his lie, or he deliberately tests the condition of the hazard during the mishap, he cannot avoid the two stroke/loss of hole penalty.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.