Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Ask Linda #1035-Follow-up question

" Interestingly enough, if your ball lies just outside a bunker, you are permitted to ground your club in the bunker to hit your ball [Decision 13-4/1]. Again, the key is where the ball lies – since the ball is neither in the bunker nor touching it, there is no restriction on where you may ground your club. "

I am wondering about the situation where the ball is just in the bunker, so that 2 inches behind the ball is fairway. Can one ground the club in the fairway, when the ball is in the bunker?

Lou from Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Dear Lou,

Yes. There is no prohibition against grounding your club outside a hazard when the ball lies in the hazard [Decision 13-4/29].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.