Sunday, August 11, 2013

Ask Linda #704a-Informing opponent of handicap

Hi Linda,

The Note to Rule 6-2 on Handicap states that “it is the players' responsibility to know the holes at which handicap strokes are to be given or received.” Is his opponent obligated to spell it out? What if the player who is supposed to give strokes keeps quiet about it? 

Please advise.

Lou from Johore, Malaysia

Dear Lou,

At the beginning of a handicapped match, opponents should tell each other their respective handicaps [Rule 6-2]. Once a player knows his opponent’s handicap, he should mark his scorecard to indicate on which holes he will give or receive strokes. It is the player’s responsibility to know where he will give or receive strokes. His opponent is under no obligation to remind him. In fact, if a player picks up his ball and concedes a hole when he would have had a putt to halve the hole because he forgot he was entitled to a handicap stroke on that hole, the concession stands [Decision 6-2a/4].

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.