Friday, August 2, 2013

Ask Linda #700-Unauthorized player lifts ball

I have a question about a ball that is marked on the green by someone who was not authorized by the player to do so. Is it a breach of etiquette or is there a penalty to anyone?   
Thank you for your clear explanations on the rules of golf. I have learned a lot from reading your e-mails and blog.

Dear Lulu,

In match play, your opponent would receive a one-stroke penalty [Rule 18-3b].

In stroke play, your fellow competitor would not incur a penalty [Rule 18-4].

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.