Monday, August 26, 2013

Ask Linda #713-Ball hits cart

Linda, a player hits the golf cart in front of them up around the green. No penalty, but can the ball be played from there or does it go back and get hit again? Our pro said it needed to come back and I disagreed. I know where I can get the correct answer!
Lulu from New Jersey

Dear Lulu,

Maybe you should apply for the pro’s job, Lulu!

A cart that belongs to a player in another group is an outside agency. If your ball accidentally hits an outside agency, it is a “rub of the green” and you will play your ball as it lies [Rule 19-1].

If the cart belongs to you or your partner, you incur a one-stroke penalty, but you will still play the ball as it lies.

The only time you have the option to replay your shot is if your ball hits your opponent’s cart in match play. When that happens, you may choose to play the ball as it lies or replay the shot with no penalty. If you choose to replay, you do not have to retrieve your original ball [Rule 19-3].

I have received several questions lately about pros giving players incorrect rulings. The next time you receive information you suspect may be wrong, ask your pro if he can back up his answer in the rulebook.

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.