Monday, August 19, 2013
Ask Linda #709-Putt moved by leaves
Can a leaf or leaves also become an outside agency?
What happens when leaves are blowing over the putting green, and a large leaf knocks a players putt off the line?
Leaves can be both loose impediments and outside agencies.
On the green
When a ball at rest on a putting green is moved by an outside agency (such as a leaf blown by the wind), there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced [Rule 18-1].
When a ball in motion after being putted from on the putting green is moved by an outside agency, the stroke is canceled and the ball must be replaced and replayed [Rule 19-1b].
Off the green
The Rule changes if the ball in motion is not on the putting green. In this case, if the ball in motion is moved by the outside agency, it is a “rub of the green” and the ball must be played as it lies. However, if the ball is at rest when it is moved by the outside agency, it is replaced.
Wind and water are not outside agencies. If your ball is moved by wind or water you will play it from its new position. There is a difference between the wind moving your ball and the wind moving a leaf that moves your ball.
Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.