Thursday, August 1, 2013

Ask Linda #699-Player responsible for another’s mistake

Linda, how can the player be responsible for an opponent incorrectly touching their ball [Ask Linda #643-Ball lifted without authority]?
Lou from Lansing, Michigan

Dear Lou,

Rule 20-1 has been in the book for as long as I can remember. The player, his partner, or another person authorized by the player are the only people permitted to mark and lift the player’s ball. Regardless of who does the marking and lifting, the player is always responsible for any breach of the Rules. If you delegate this job to someone else, make sure it’s someone you trust.

Here is the first paragraph of Rule 20-1:

20-1. Lifting And Marking
A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.
Bear in mind, Lou, that this is a specific instance where the Rules allow you to grant permission to another player to handle your ball. In situations where permission has not been granted, there is no penalty to you.

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.