Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Ask Linda #1819-Play with less than 14 clubs

Dear Linda,
If I only use 12 clubs in my bag under real circumstances – does my score count?
Lou from South Africa 

Dear Lou,

Yes. The player may not carry more than 14 clubs during his round, but there is no Rule that sets a minimum number of clubs [Rule 4-4a].

The reason why the reader in Ask Linda #1807 could not post her score when she played in a tournament where the number of clubs each player could use was limited to five was that this is a lower maximum than the number allowed in the Rules. If the competition had not set a limit on the number of clubs lower than 14, and the player had simply chosen to play with only five clubs (admittedly an unusual decision), she would have been able to post her score.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.