Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Ask Linda #1814-Lift and clean ball multiple times on green

Hi Linda,
Thanks for all your help in the past.
Can a ball be marked, lifted and cleaned more than once on the same green? I’m talking about lifting and cleaning after your first putt does not go in the hole.
Thank you.
Lou from Ontario

Dear Lou,

Yes. When a player does not hole his putt, he may mark, lift, and clean it again, even if his ball lies close enough to the hole that he plans to continue putting [Rule 16-1b]. There is any variety of debris that may adhere to the ball when it is putted, and the player has the right to clean it off. If the player does not plan to putt continuously, he should mark and lift his ball if it may interfere with another player’s putt.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.