Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Rules Nugget: Ball moves when player removes loose impediment
What happens when your ball moves when you remove a loose impediment? The answer depends on where your ball lies:
Putting green: There is no penalty, assuming the movement of the ball is directly attributable to the movement of the loose impediment. The ball must be replaced [Rule 23-1]. If the ball is not replaced, the penalty is two strokes/loss of hole.
Anywhere except a putting green or a hazard: There is a one-stroke penalty for moving the ball in play. If the ball is not replaced, the penalty increases to two strokes/loss of hole [Rule 18-2].
Hazard (bunker or water hazard): There is a two-stroke/loss-of-hole penalty for touching or moving a loose impediment in a hazard. The ball must be replaced if moved [Rule 13-4c].