Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Ask Linda #1264-Interior out of bounds

Hello Linda,

Here is a question that divided opinions on a recent golf tour where myself and seven others could not agree as to whether a ball was in play or out of bounds.

Two holes running parallel with each other with out-of-bounds posts staked on the right hand side of both holes separated by a row of trees.

Player tees off and slices his ball right over the trees so that it is in play on the other hole’s boundary but clearly hit out of bounds of the hole we are playing.

Player declares he is still within bounds of golf course therefore can carry on without hitting the tee shot again and therefore playing 3 off the tee.

Does out of bounds therefore only apply if you are off of the course or indeed stuck in the trees in this case which have the white posts either side of the line of trees?

Thank you,
Lou from Bristol, UK

Dear Lou,

The out-of-bounds stakes were probably placed between these two adjacent holes as a safety measure or to improve pace of play. Either way, the Committee is entitled to place interior out-of-bounds stakes [Decision 33-2a/12]. When a player hits a ball past these stakes, his ball is out of bounds [Definition of “Out of Bounds”]. “Out of bounds” is defined not only as “beyond the boundaries of the course,” but also as beyond “any part of the course so marked by the Committee.”

The fact that the player’s ball now lies on the golf course on an adjacent fairway is irrelevant. It is beyond markers that the Committee placed on the course to indicate interior out of bounds. If the shot that went out of bounds was hit from the tee, he must return to the tee to hit his third shot.

Here are two previous Ask Linda columns on the same topic that you might find informative:

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.