Thursday, March 17, 2016

Ask Linda #1269-Hit ball with billiard-type stroke

My ball came to rest under a tree limb that ran horizontal to the ground – approximately 8-10 inches off the ground. I struck the ball with the head of my driver, using a billiard-type stroke. Is that legal?
Lou from Phoenix, Arizona

Dear Lou,

No, it is not a legal stroke. You are not permitted to “push” the ball [Rule 14-1]. The penalty in match play is loss of hole. In stroke play, count the “billiard-type stroke” plus two penalty strokes [Decision 14-1a/2].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.