Saturday, March 26, 2016

Follow-up question to Ask Linda #1271 (“Play second ball when unsure of procedure”)

Dear readers,
A number of you wrote to ask whether the player invoking Rule 3-3 in Monday’s column would incur a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 if the footpath were determined to be integral to the course and the Committee ruled that the ball played from the footpath would be the one to count in the player’s score. The answer is “yes.” I added that bit of information to the column, highlighting it in yellow. Here is a link to that column: