Friday, January 15, 2016

Ask Linda #1234-Opponents play each other’s ball

Hi Linda,

I know playing the wrong ball in Match Play is loss of hole, BUT, what if both players in Match Play play each other's ball and only discover the error on reaching the green! Can I suggest that the first player to hit from the fairway would be the loser? I say that because when the Wrong Ball was hit effectively the hole was finished.

Thanks in anticipation,
Lou from Spain 

Dear Lou,

If match play opponents inadvertently hit each other’s balls, the player who hit the wrong ball first loses the hole. If the players cannot determine when the balls were exchanged, they must play out the hole with the exchanged balls [Rule 15-3a].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.