Thursday, January 14, 2016

Ask Linda #1233-Bunker marked as GUR

Hi Linda,
Can you confirm if entry of the ball into a bunker which is surrounded in its entirety by a white line to indicate complete GUR and from which play is prohibited, will mean that the player automatically incurs a one-stroke penalty as he has no option to drop the ball in the bunker area?  

Lulu and Lou from Scotland

Dear Lulu and Lou,

No, I cannot.

When an entire bunker has been marked as ground under repair, and play is prohibited from that bunker, the bunker loses its status as a hazard. It is now considered “through the green.” Players are entitled to free relief under Rule 25-1b(i). Players must take the ball out of the bunker and drop within one club-length and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. They may not drop in a hazard or on a putting green. This is a free drop [Decision 25/13].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.