Saturday, August 22, 2015

Ask Linda #1132a-Follow-up to #1132

Not long ago a fellow competitor addressed his ball that was on a tee on a par three. As he started his down swing the ball toppled off the tee. He was able to adjust his swing to compensate, and before the ball touched the ground, put the ball on the green, parred the hole and got his “greenie”.

He should have been penalized? I can’t wait to tell him this ruling!

Lou from Hackettstown, New Jersey

Dear Lou,

No, no, no, no, no! This is not the same situation as Ask Linda #1132-Hit moving ball. In #1132, the ball was on the green and in play. The player is penalized for moving his ball in play. However, a ball on the teeing ground is not in play until the player has made a stroke at it. If the player swings at the ball as it is falling off the tee, the stroke counts, and there is no penalty [Rule 11-3]. This is one of the few situations where the player is not penalized for hitting a moving ball [Rule 14-5].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.