Monday, August 17, 2015

Ask Linda #1128-Practice during decided hole

Playing in a Stableford competition a player hits two tee shots and can’t find any, he gives up on that hole but then drops another ball on the fairway and plays a shot to the green on the same hole. Does that constitute practice on the course and if so what is the penalty as he is not going to score at the hole anyway?

Lou from the UK 

Dear Lou,

Once a hole has been decided, a player may continue to play the hole. Such shots are not deemed to be practice strokes [Rule 7-2]. So if a player gives up in a Stableford format, or concedes a hole in a match, he may hit additional shots on the hole.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.