Thursday, August 20, 2015

Ask Linda #1131-Move opponent’s ball mark

Linda…what is the ruling if a player inadvertently steps on or kicks (and moves) an opponent’s ball marker?  

Lou from Texas

Dear Lou,

The player incurs a one-stroke penalty and the ball marker must be replaced [Rule 18-3b].

I assume that you are referring to match play, since you used the term “opponent.” In stroke play, if a “fellow competitor” moves your ball marker, there is no penalty and, again, the marker must be replaced.

In match play, players are referred to as “opponents.”
In stroke play, players are referred to as “fellow competitors.”

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.