Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Ask Linda #999-GUR in bunker


Several bunkers on our course are undergoing repair and having new sand placed. One of my fellow competitors hit into a bunker that had the right half marked as ground under repair due to no sand placed there yet. He asked about relief and I told him he was entitled to nearest point of relief plus 1 club length. However, that would have taken him out of the bunker, so he took his relief in the part of the bunker with sand, no nearer the hole. Did we interpret Rule 25 correctly?

Lou from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Dear Lou,


If your ball lies in ground under repair in a bunker, the only way you will get free relief is to drop in the bunker. Find the nearest point of relief that is no closer to the hole and drop within one club-length of that spot. If you cannot find complete relief, you are permitted to drop on a spot that gives you the maximum available relief from the condition [Rule 25-1b (ii) (a)].

If there is no spot to drop where your ball won’t be closer to the hole (e.g., if the back half of the bunker is marked as GUR), or if you simply prefer to drop outside the bunker, you may drop on the line-of-sight to the hole, but you must add one penalty stroke to your score [Rule 25-1b (ii) (b)].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.