Friday, February 27, 2015

Ask Linda #1007-Ball hits cart and ricochets OB

Hi Linda,
If, on the way toward scooting out of bounds, your shot hits your golf cart (or bag), would you be assessed two separate penalty strokes for each infraction?
Lou from Chicopee, Massachusetts

Dear Lou,

The player incurs one penalty stroke for hitting his own equipment, and he must play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-2]. Since the ball settled out of bounds, the player incurs an additional one-stroke penalty and must play his next shot from the spot where he hit his previous shot [Rule 27-1b]. The total number of penalty strokes is two.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.