Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Ask Linda #1004-Relief from OB casual water

Hi Linda,

Let's say a ball is in bounds but near the out of bounds line so the stance is out of bounds and also in casual water. Is there any relief from the casual water?

Lou from Massachusetts

Dear Lou,


Casual water is defined as an abnormal ground condition only when it is on the course [Definition of “Abnormal Ground Conditions”]. There is no free relief available from abnormal ground conditions that lie out of bounds.

If the player decides he is unable to hit his ball while standing in the casual water out of bounds, he may deem his ball unplayable and choose one of the relief options in Rule 28, all of which will add one penalty stroke to his score.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.