Sunday, December 29, 2013

Ask Linda #768-Hit your own cart

Linda…as a follow-up to this rule [Ask Linda #679- Ball strikes cart], what if your ball hits your cart but you are not the driver? Is “your cart” considered to be the cart you are in or do you have to be the driver?

Lou from Texas

Dear Lou,

If the cart you share with another player is stationary when your ball hits it, it is your equipment. The penalty for hitting your own equipment is one stroke, and you will play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-2].

If your cart is being moved by your cart-mate at the time your ball strikes it, the cart is the equipment of the driver. If that driver is…
a. your partner, you incur one penalty stroke and will play the ball as it lies;
b. your opponent in match play, there is no penalty, and you have the choice of playing the ball as it lies or canceling the stroke and repeating the shot [Rule 19-3];
c. your fellow competitor in stroke play, there is no penalty and you will play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-4].

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.