Friday, February 9, 2018

Ask Linda #1696-Relief from tree stump

Dear Linda,
Yesterday my friend's ball came to rest near a short stump in a rough area, but not in hazard. His backswing was blocked by the stump, and he said he was entitled to a free lift. None of us was sure about that, but we allowed it anyway.

Were we right in allowing a relief in such a case?

Lou from Singapore

Dear Lou,


A tree stump has the same status as a tree, albeit a very short one. There is no relief without penalty from a tree stump unless it has been marked as ground under repair, or it is in the process of being cut up for removal [Decision 25/8].

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.