Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Ask Linda #1625-Complete relief from Ground Under Repair (GUR)

Good day Linda,
We have weekly competitions in our club (Cape Town area).

I would like to clarify the following. When a player gets a free drop from a GUR, can he stand in the GUR or must he drop in a way that he takes his stance out of the GUR?

Thanking you in advance.
Lulu from Cape Town

Dear Lulu,

When a player takes a free drop out of Ground Under Repair (GUR), she must take complete relief. Her stance may not touch the GUR for her next shot. The same would be true for a player taking free relief from an immovable obstruction. Please read Rule 25-1b and the Definition of “Nearest Point of Relief.”

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.