Monday, August 7, 2017

Ask Linda #1589-Order of play when you have a partner

My partner and I are playing a doubles match. My partner (who is going for par) is farther from the hole than I am (going for bogie). It is his turn to play. Can we elect to have me play first and secure the bogie before he putts? 
Does the same rule apply in a 4-ball competition?
Lulu from Ontario, Canada

Dear Lulu,

Yes to both questions.

In both match play and stroke play, when it is your turn to play, you may choose to have your partner play first regardless of where his ball lies [Rules 30-3b and 31-4].

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.