Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Ask Linda #1517-Ball enters hazard marked by red stakes

We have a green that has water around two sides. There are red lateral hazard stakes marked by the water. If your ball goes across the green and into the water do you play it as a lateral hazard or a water hazard. I thought it was played as a water hazard but someone in our group disagreed. Thanks for your help.

Love how you answer these questions so promptly.
Lulu from Frisco, TX

Dear Lulu,

When the ball last crosses the margin of a hazard at a point where the hazard is marked by red stakes, your ball lies in a lateral water hazard. You are entitled to all of the relief options provided in Rule 26-1.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.