Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Ask Linda #951-Using tee in unusual manner

Dear Linda,
I played golf today with a quota group that we play weekly. One of the girls was playing with a tee in her mouth when she teed off and when she hit her fairway woods. She said one of the lower handicappers mentioned she should use it to keep in line with her ball.
I didn't think she could play with a practice prop. Then she mentioned that she played our ladies day (league) doing the same thing. Is this allowed off the practice range? If not what is the penalty?
Lulu from Florida

Dear Lulu,

This player is using equipment in an unusual manner to assist her in making a stroke. It is a breach of Rule 14-3, for which the penalty is disqualification.

The player may take a practice swing with the tee in her mouth; she must put it away when she hits her ball.

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.