Monday, November 10, 2014

Ask Linda #946-Interference from cart path and limb


If my ball comes to rest on a cart path where a low lying tree limb is in my line, am I allowed to take a free drop within the rules that will take the tree limb out of my line?  

Lou from Pennsylvania

Dear Lou,

Maybe, Lou. Your free relief from the cart path must be within one club-length of the nearest point of relief that is no closer to the hole [Rule 24-2b (i)]. If that area incidentally gives you relief from the limb, it is your good fortune. If the area that is within one club-length of the NPR does not provide relief from the limb, you’re going to have to deal with the interference on your next shot.

Unless you are playing in a high-level tournament on a course that has set up Temporary Immovable Obstructions (e.g., tents, scoreboards, grandstands, television towers), the only time you are ever allowed free relief specifically for your line of play is when an immovable obstruction intervenes on your line of putt on the putting green [Rule 24-2a].

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.