Monday, November 17, 2014

Ask Linda #949, further explanation

Dear readers,

A reader from New Zealand was concerned that I did not explain the different rulings for match play and stroke play in Ask Linda #949 ("Tire ruts-GUR"). I assumed the tournament was stroke play, and answered the question from that perspective.

If the tournament were match play, there would be no option to play a second ball under Rule 3-3. As most of you who read my columns have learned, Rule 3-3 applies only to stroke play. In match play, the player must decide how to proceed. If the player's opponent believes the procedure to be incorrect, he may file a claim before any player in the match tees off on the next hole [Rule 2-5].