Friday, January 10, 2014

Ask Linda #774-Clumps of grass impede putt from off green

Linda:  I have a question on loose impediments versus improving your line. Suppose a golfer is four feet off the green and wants to putt the ball. But, there are clumps of mown grass between her/him and the green. Is that a loose impediment and allowable to be swept aside or would that be considered improving the line?

Lou from Colorado

Dear Lou,

Clumps of mown grass are loose impediments [Definition of “Loose Impediments”]. You may remove them from your line of play.

When the Rules state that you may not improve your line of play, they are referring to such actions as pressing a club on the ground; moving, bending, or breaking anything growing or fixed; creating or eliminating irregularities of surface; etc. [Rule 13-2].

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.