Friday, January 3, 2014
Ask Linda #770-Number of strokes in match play
In match play, your opponent is entitled to ask the number of strokes you have taken at any time during the play of a hole (Rule 9-2). Is your answer supposed to be the number of strokes you have taken plus any penalty strokes, or the number of strokes you have taken plus any penalty strokes minus any handicap strokes you may have on that hole, in order to not fall foul of rule 9-2b(ii)?
Common sense and everyday play would indicate the latter, however the rule book seems to indicate the former.
Thank you for your help.
Lou from London
Your opponent is permitted to ask you how many strokes you have taken at any time during the play of a hole. That number should include all penalty strokes [Rule 9-2]. There is no requirement to subtract any handicap strokes from the total.
Prior to beginning your match, you and your opponent will tell each other your respective handicaps [Rule 6-2]. That would be a good time to note on your scorecard the holes where you will give or receive a stroke. Since you have this information at your fingertips, all you need to learn from your opponent is the actual stroke total. Adding or subtracting handicap strokes is your responsibility.
Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.