Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Ask Linda #728-Ball unplayable in bunker

Player feels that he has an unplayable lie in the bunker. Is he allowed to call an unplayable lie and then take a penalty drop in the bunker not nearer the hole?
Lou from Scotland

Dear Lou,

You may declare your ball “unplayable” anywhere on the golf course except in a water hazard. Under penalty of one stroke, you may drop in the bunker within two club-lengths not closer to the hole. You have two other options: (1) drop in the bunker on the line-of-sight to the hole, or (2) play a ball under stroke and distance [Rule 28].

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.