Monday, September 30, 2013

Ask Linda #727-Stand outside Dropping Zone Sept. 30, 2013

Dear Linda,
When a player has to go to the drop zone to play a shot, the drop zone is marked with a circle and labeled drop zone.  Can the player stand outside the circle as long as she drops (ball lands inside the circle) inside the drop zone circle?
Lulu from Tennessee

Dear Lulu,

The Rule about Dropping Zones puts no restrictions on where you place your feet. If the area is defined by a circle, there is no requirement that your feet be in the circle.

However, when you drop the ball, it must strike the ground inside the circle. If there is a line defining the Zone, the line is in the Zone, so the drop is good if it strikes the line.

You may be interested to know that your drop is good even if it rolls out of the Zone, provided it doesn’t roll more than two club-lengths from the spot it hit the ground when you dropped it. And the drop is good in most cases even if it rolls forward!

For complete details on how to properly use a Dropping Zone, please read Appendix I, Part B, #8 in the back of your rulebook.

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.