Wednesday, October 16, 2013
Ask Linda #734-Stand behind player
Is it simply bad etiquette or actually a punishable rule infringement to stand behind your opponent to study the line of his/her putt?
It is a violation of etiquette. If your opponent or fellow competitor asks you to move, it is expected that you will honor that request. This information can be found in Section I, Etiquette, in the front of your rulebook, under “Consideration for Other Players.”
The answer is not the same if the player’s partner or either of their caddies stands behind the ball (to the right of a right-handed golfer) while the player is making a stroke. In this case, the player incurs a two-stroke/loss-of-hole penalty [Rule 14-2b]. For a detailed explanation, please read Ask Linda #535- Standing behind partner, published on October 5, 2012. Here is the link: http://lindamillergolf.blogspot.com/2012/10/ask-linda-535-standing-behind-partner.html
Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.