Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Ask Linda #740-Gully in side of bunker

Linda, a recent rainstorm left a six-inch deep gully crack in the side of a bunker. No casual water was present, but the sand was damp and hard. The ball was deep in this crack. Is there any relief for an abnormal ground condition?
Lulu from Utah

Dear Lulu,

There is no relief from cracks in the earth unless the area is marked as ground under repair. However, there is certainly justification for marking such an area as GUR. If no Committee member is available to review the problem, you may play two balls under Rule 3-3 and find out later (before you sign your scorecard) if the Committee will rule in your favor. You would play one of those balls under Rule 25-1b [Relief from Abnormal Ground Conditions] and play the other either as it lies or under Rule 28 [Ball Unplayable]. Before you play either ball, you would have to mention to another player which ball you prefer to count should it be decided that it was played correctly under the Rules.

Copyright © 2013 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.