Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Ask Linda #1447-Hit whiffle balls during round

Linda, I really enjoy your column and now I have a question. During a round, I observed a player practicing his swing several yards behind his (6th) tee while waiting for the group ahead to get out of range. He was hitting whiffle golf balls. Is this a violation (perhaps Rule 14-3)?
Take care,
Lou from Warwick, Rhode Island

Dear Lou,

A player is not permitted to make a practice stroke during his round [Rule 7-2]. While he is permitted to practice putting and chipping on or near the putting green of the hole he just finished playing or the teeing ground of the hole he is about to play, swings at whiffle balls are likely to be full strokes. The penalty for taking a practice stroke during the round is two strokes (loss of hole in match play).

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.