Friday, December 2, 2016

Ask Linda #1431-Use a compass during round

Linda, is it okay to use a compass during a round? Not sure if it is considered a mechanical aid.
Love your rules info.
Lulu from Hollywood, Florida

Dear Lulu,

Yes, a player may use a compass during her round.

A compass can only measure direction, which is a constant. Since it cannot measure variable conditions, a compass is unable to assist the player in his play. Use of a compass is therefore not a breach of Rule 14-3 [Decision 14-3/4].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.