Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Ask Linda #1259-Counting putts
One player got on the green on 2. She putted; unfortunately, the putt rolled off the green. She putted 2 more times and at the end of the hole, she reported only 2 putts. I said: “No. You have 3 putts.” I said 3, she said 2. Who is right? I will apologize if I am wrong but I would like to know what is the right way to count putts.
Lulu from Honolulu, Hawaii
There is no Rule about how to count putts. The Committee must decide whether to count all strokes that are made once the player has made her first stroke on the putting green, or to count only those strokes that a player makes while her ball is on the green. When the USGA counts putts in its Championships, once the player has made her first stroke on the putting green, all subsequent strokes are counted as putts, whether from on or off the putting green. The Committee needs to tell the players how it wants them to count putts; everyone needs to be on the same page.
Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.