Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Ask Linda #1252-Hold flagstick while putting

I so enjoy your rules emails!
My question is:
If a player has a tap in, may she hold the flagstick as she taps the ball into the hole?
Thank you for your wisdom,
Lulu from San Diego, California

Dear Lulu,

Assuming the player has removed the flagstick from the hole, and is not leaning on it for support, the answer is “yes” [Decision 17-1/5].

It’s perfectly fine to do this if all you have is a tap in, but I would caution against it for any ball more than an inch or two from the hole.  

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.