Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Ask Linda #975-Ball hits club on green

Hi Linda,

I needed further explanation of Rule 19.

Situation is as follows:  I chip a ball onto the green, which hits a club lying on the green. I understand it is the rub of the green in the fairway, wasn’t sure if the rule was different if the object struck is on the putting green.

Thanks for your help…
Lulu from Burbank, California

Dear Lulu,

The location of the club (on or off the green) is irrelevant.

If the club belongs to a fellow competitor (stroke play), it is a rub of the green – there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies [Rule 19-1].

If the club belongs to your partner, you incur a one-stroke penalty and must play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-2].

If the club belongs to your opponent (match play), there is no penalty. You have two choices: play the ball as it lies, or cancel the stroke and replay the shot [Rule 19-3].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.