Monday, December 22, 2014

Ask Linda #969-Ball touches red stake

Linda, I read your answer Ask Linda #584 - Ball touches red stake. I understand the rules so that the red stakes are inside the hazard and that a ball is in a hazard when it lies in or any part of it touches the water hazard. So if a ball touches the red stake is it not in the lateral water hazard?

Kind regards
Lou from Finland

Dear Lou,

When a water hazard is defined by stakes, the stakes are in the hazard. A ball touching such a stake is deemed to be in the hazard [Definition of “Water Hazard”]. If the stakes are movable, they may be removed (no penalty); if the ball moves, it must be replaced [Rule 24-1]. If the stakes are immovable, the player is not entitled to free relief [Rule 24-2, Note 1].

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.