Monday, December 8, 2014

Ask Linda #961-Move grass clippings off fringe

Dear Linda,

I recently played in a friendly - ball and the tee shot of one of the players landed just off the green and not on the fringe. Before taking her putt she removed loose grass cuttings from the fringe. By doing this has she incurred a one-stroke penalty as explained in rule 13.2 by improving her line of play?
 Please explain.
Thank you,
Lou from Mombasa (Kenya)

Dear Lou,

Grass cuttings are loose impediments. They may be removed at any time from anywhere on the course except water hazards and bunkers.

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.