Friday, March 17, 2017

Ask Linda #1493-Ball lifted from green dropped, rolls into water hazard

On our Course, the ground on the right side of one of the Greens slopes towards a water hazard close to it. The ball picked up from the Green after marking it accidentally slips out of the hand, rolls into the water hazard and cannot be retrieved. Surely, he cannot be penalised. Your views please.
Lou from Pune, India

Dear Lou,

The player is penalized. Rule 16-1b, the Rule that permits a player to mark and lift his ball on the green, does not permit substitution of another ball. It reads: "The position of the ball must be marked before it is lifted and the ball must be replaced." When the Rules say “the” ball, they refer to the original ball. The penalty is loss of hole in match play and two strokes in stroke play [Decision 15-2/1]. The player must be more careful about how he handles a lifted ball.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.