Thursday, March 9, 2017

Ask Linda 1487-Player knocks fellow competitor’s ball out of tree

Hi Linda,
We had a situation today when a fellow competitor’s ball became lodged up a tree. We could not see it, but another player shook the tree and the ball came down! He just shook the tree. No conversation took place between the player and the fellow competitor. What is the ruling?
Lou from Spain

Dear Lou,

There is no penalty to either player. The player whose ball was knocked out of the tree must choose one of the relief options for an unplayable ball and add one penalty stroke to his score [Decision 18-1/9].

If the ball had been spotted and were playable, the player would be entitled to place the ball back in the tree, as near as possible to where it originally lay, and play it with no penalty.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.