Friday, October 2, 2015

Ask Linda #1162-Ball hits foot

Hi Linda,
Could you please give me a ruling? When one of our ladies was taking a drop, her ball hit her foot. It is my understanding she is not penalized, but I was asked the question: what if you hit from a bunker and the ball comes back and hits you on the foot?
Lulu from Australia

Dear Lulu,

If a player drops a ball onto her own foot (or onto anyone else’s, for that matter), she must re-drop the ball. There is no penalty, and there is no limit to the number of times she must re-drop under this circumstance [Rule 20-2a].

Any time a player hits a ball that subsequently hits her (e.g., a ricochet off the lip of a bunker, a deflection from a tree), she incurs a one-stroke penalty and must play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-2].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.